Plastic Oceans’ Director of Science to Speak

We’re calling all geniuses to join Conservation X Labs for the launch of the Microfiber Innovation Challenge, a $650,000 competition to source and support transformative innovations to address microfiber pollution. The launch event will feature leaders in sustainable fashion, scientists on the cutting-edge of microfiber research studying the impacts on our health & ecosystems, and insights from our brand partners about what the future of microfiber innovation looks like. Join us as we kick-off the Challenge application process, and begin our search for innovators with solutions to replace textiles that are sources of plastic microfibers, or develop improved textile manufacturing processes to decrease microfiber shedding.

Register Here.


Barbara Martinez, Open Innovation Director, Conservation X Labs
Cassia Patel, Program Director, Oceanic Global
Charles Rolsky, Postdoctoral Researcher, Arizona State University and Plastic Oceans International
David Breslauer, CSO and co-founder, Bolt Threads
Debbie Luffman, Product Director, Finisterre
Georgia Parker, Innovation Manager, Fashion for Good
Jeremy Stangeland, Lead, Materials Lab, Under Armour
Kamea Chayne, Host of Green Dreamer Podcast
Lorin Hamlin, Senior Lead, Innovation Partnerships, Under Armour
Megan Schuknecht, Senior Biomimicry Professional, Biomimicry Institute
Najah Onn, Environmental Engineer, Sustainability Consultant, Ethical Fashion blogger, Footprint Mechanics
Neva Murtha, Senior Corporate Campaigner, Canopy
Nicole Rawling, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Material Innovation Initiative
Randy Harward, Senior Vice President, Material and Manufacturing Innovation, Under Armour, Inc.
Sophie Mather, Executive Director, The Microfibre Consortium
Stephanie Benedetto, CEO & Co-Founder, Queen of Raw
Sylvanie Meignié, Circular Innovation Conception, R&D Materials, Sourcing & Traceability, Circle Sportswear, La Caserne, Consultant for Different Sport & Urban Brands
Laura Hardman, Acting Director, Plastic Free Oceans, Ocean Wise
Jeremy Douglas, Executive VP, External Relations, Ocean Wise
Dr Richard R Kirby, Independent Scientist
Anna Posacka, Research Manager, Plastics Lab, Ocean Wise Conservation Association
Diane Wilson, Executive Director and Waterkeeper for San Antonio Bay Estuarine, Waterkeeper
Alex Dehgan, CEO, Conservation X Labs
Henrik Cox, Product Management Engineer, Conservation X Labs
Paul Bunje, Co-Founder and CSO/COO, Conservation X Labs
Carolynn Box, Ocean Conservation Consultant
Krystle Moody Wood, Founder & Principal Consultant, Materevolve
Oliver Plunkett, Board Member, Flotilla Foundation
Mark J. Spalding, President, The Ocean Foundation
Varun Kelkar, Ph.D. candidate, Arizona State University